Calendar 2018-2019

SKCMTA meets at 9:30 AM on the second Tuesday of every month at Zion Lutheran Church, 25105 132nd Ave SE, Kent. Please join us!

Download the 2018-2019 Yearbook (coming soon) for a complete listing of event dates, deadlines, and details.

September 2018

Tuesday, September 11 at 9:30 am: Chapter Meeting at Zion Lutheran Church (Annual Book Sale, Welcome Back Potluck)

October 2018

Tuesday, October 9 at 9:30 am: Chapter Meeting at Zion Lutheran Church
Dr. Susanna Garcia (virtual presentation): “How eNovative Piano Changed My Life”
Dr. Garcia shares her journey to improve outcomes for her piano students and how the result transformed her teaching.
Hosts: Deanna Dent and Elena Aleksandrova

Friday-Sunday, October 12-14: YAMS Session 1

November 2018

Tuesday, November 13 at 9:30 am: Chapter Meeting at Zion Lutheran Church
David McDade: “Art of Vocal Coaching”
Mr. McDade is the Seattle Opera Head of Coach/Accompanists. This workshop will be held in the choir room at Zion Lutheran. 
Hosts: no hosts this month, chapter lunch at nearby restaurant

December 2018

Saturday, December 1 at 1:00 pm: SKCMTA Student Recital

Tuesday, December 11 at 9:30 am: Christmas Party and Potluck

January 2019

Tuesday, January 8 at 9:30 am: Chapter Meeting at Zion Lutheran Church
Jordan James from Steinway Gallery of Seattle: “How I Got Started with Steinway and the Importance of Business Mindedness with Music”
Hosts: Heather Forbes and Stephanie White

Friday-Sunday, January 18-20: YAMS Session 2

February 2019

No Chapter Meeting in February due to Music Artistry Program (MAP)

Saturday-Tuesday, February 9-11: Music Artistry Program (MAP)

March 2019

Saturday, March 2: Chapter Honors Competition at the First Baptist Church of Kent

Saturday, March 9 at 2:00 pm: Music Artistry Program (MAP) Recital at the First Baptist Church of Kent (Students selected from MAP are honored at this recital.)

Saturday, March 9 at 3:30 pm: Fine Arts Recital at the First Baptist Church of Kent (Winners from CHC are honored at this recital.)

Tuesday, March 12 at 9:30 am: Chapter Meeting at Zion Lutheran Church
Krista Seely, WSMTA President: “MTNA and WSMTA–How to Maximize Your Member Benefits”
Hosts: Kevin Peterson and Dianne Nichols

April 2019

Friday-Saturday, April 5-6: Voice Music Artistry Program (MAP) at Zion Lutheran Church

Tuesday, April 9 at 9:30 am: Chapter Meeting at Zion Lutheran Church
Gibson Scholarship Application Presentations
Hosts: Christine Szabadi and Sviatlana Riedel

May 2019

Saturday, May 4 at 9:00 am to 2:00 pm*: Music Literacy Program (MLP) at Nativity Lutheran Church (*students arriving after 2:00 pm may not test; testing time concludes at 3:00 pm)

Tuesday, May 14 at 9:30 am: Chapter Meeting at Zion Lutheran Church
Ekaterina Melkamini presents a masterclass on “Discovering JS Bach through his 12 Little Preludes,” featuring 8 year old pianist Emily Qi
Hosts: Lisa Hogg

Saturday, May 18: SKCMTA Music Festival at Kent First Baptist Church

June 2019

No Chapter Meeting. Board and Committee Chair Meeting TBA.