Calendar 2017-2018

SKCMTA meets at 9:30 AM on the second Tuesday of every month at Zion Lutheran Church, 25105 132nd Ave SE, Kent. Please join us!

Download the 2017-2018 Yearbook for a complete listing of event dates, deadlines, and details.

September 2017

Tuesday, September 12 at 9:30 am: Chapter Meeting at Zion Lutheran Church (Annual Garage Sale, Kickoff Brunch)

October 2017

Tuesday, October 10 at 9:30 am: Chapter Meeting at Zion Lutheran Church (Dr. Nicole Kim, WSMTA District II VP: “Information Session Regarding the District I & II Conference”; Hosts: Julie Swienty and Samantha Yeung)

November 2017

Tuesday, November 14 at 9:30 am: Chapter Meeting at Zion Lutheran Church (Erich Parce: “It’s Not Fair… I Just Can’t Buy a Better Instrument” Performing and Teaching from a Vocal Music Perspective; Hosts: Heather White and Stephanie White)

Saturday, November 18 at 2:30 pm: Fall Student Recital at First Baptist Church of Kent

Friday-Saturday, November 17-19: YAMS & JAMS Session 1 (Registration Deadline is October 10, 2017)

December 2017

Tuesday, December 12 at 9:30 am: Breakfast Potluck at Lisa Hogg’s Home

January 2018

Tuesday, January 9 at 9:30 am: Chapter Meeting at Zion Lutheran Church (Dr. Susie Garcia: “How eNovative Piano Changed My Life”; Hosts: Kevin Peterson and Christine Szabadi)

Saturday, January 20 at 6:00 pm: Gibson Music Scholarship Fundraiser at St. John the Baptist Catholic Church

Friday-Sunday, January 26-28: YAMS & JAMS Session 2

February 2018

No Chapter Meeting in February due to Music Artistry Program (MAP)

Monday-Wednesday, February 12-14: Music Artistry Program (Visiting Artist Teachers: Dr. Oksana Ezhokina and Jeffrey Gilliam)

March 2018

Saturday, March 3: Chapter Honors Competition at the First Baptist Church of Kent (Adjudicators: Dr. Yelena Balabanova and Dr. Jensina Oliver)

Saturday, March 10 at 1:30 pm: Music Artistry Program (MAP) Recital at the First Baptist Church of Kent (Students selected from MAP are honored at this recital.)

Saturday, March 10 at 3:00 pm: Fine Arts Recital at the First Baptist Church of Kent (Winners from CHC are honored at this recital.)

Tuesday, March 13 at 9:30 am: Chapter Meeting at Zion Lutheran Church (Lisa Bergman: “Fluent in a Flash: Pronunciation of Music Terminology in French, German, and Italian in a Fun and Interactive Way”; Hosts: Deanne Dent and Dianne Nichols)

April 2018

Tuesday, April 10 at 9:30 am: Chapter Meeting (Oral Presentation by Scholarship Applicants; Host: Sviatlana Riedel)

May 2018

Saturday, May 5 at 9:00 am to 2:00 pm*: Music Literacy Program (MLP) at Nativity Lutheran Church (*students arriving after 2:00 pm may not test; testing time concludes at 3:00 pm)

Tuesday, May 8 at 9:30 am: Chapter Meeting at Zion Lutheran Church (Yuri Melekh: “Table Talk with a Piano Tuner”; Hosts: Heather Forbes and Dianne Morton)

June 2018

No Chapter Meeting. Board and Committee Chair Meeting TBA.